So…there’s a ton of discussion going on everywhere about print on demand (POD) and the validity of small press.  It’s funny how controversy stirs when something changes like the publishing industry.  But times are changing and publishing is no exception.  Publishing with two small presses has been not just satisfying, but fun.  I started writing because I enjoyed it.  The writing process, like many creative adventures, can become discouraging and downright depressing.  To survive, you not only have to improve, you have to have very thick skin.  You have to learn that “thanks but no thanks” is just part of the game. All that said, it can also be a rewarding experience.  You get better, you make friends, and you learn to craft a story.

 So what does of any of this have to do with small press?  Small press can be an experience that puts the enjoyment back into writing.  At least it has been for me.  Working with two small companies, I began to remember why I started writing in the first place.  Because it’s fun, because I love to tell a story.  Sure, I’d love see my name on the New York Times bestseller list — really, who wouldn’t.  I still strive to be there.  But I love working with these companies and believe they are a vital part of the new world of publishing.  Small publishing is here and will continue to be here.  POD is here and will, I believe, fill an important role in the future of publishing.  It’s just the way the world changes.

 Now…speaking of small press…Got Wolf?  Take a hop on over to The Wild Rose Press, www.thewildrosepress.com and take a look at the contest for the Black Rose line.  They are currently accepting contest entries for their Got Wolf contest.  If you like dark, dangerous and furry…you’ll want to enter Got Wolf.

Happy hump day.

