My last post was one written with sorrow in my heart but today, I want to write about joy and finding happiness in all corners of the world. This weekend I’m at the Bold Strokes Books Lesbian Book Festival debuting my novel Crimson Vengeance. The main character, a 500-year-old vampire is a lesbian and one kick-ass woman! So how does a writer who’s been married (to a man) for twenty years end up writing a lesbian romance you ask? I’d love to give a quick and easy answer except I don’t really have one. This character simply came to life in my imagination and I liked her a lot. In my mind, love is love, and everyone deserves the right to love the person they choose. In Crimson Vengeance, Dr. Riah Preston falls in love with Adriana James. It’s their story, their journey, their joy. Of course, there’s danger, death, and evil, but hey, that’s pretty much standard in all my books! What is more important to me in all my stories is the path to finding a soul mate as cliché as that might sound. Passion is great. Sex is great. Yet finding that one person who touches your soul is like nothing else in the world and everyone deserves that.

Sitting among the warm, encouraging, and interesting women at the BSB Book Festival has been the most fun I’ve had in ages. Had I not written this book I may never have met many of these women and that would have been shame for my life has become so much richer because of it. Joy truly can be found around every corner if you simply open your heart to it.

