I wasn’t born in Washington State but came here as a preschooler. It’s home and always will be. When you’ve lived somewhere a very long time, it’s easy to miss what’s special about it and I’m no exception. I work across the street from the Spokane Falls and yet rarely look at them. In those few moments when I do, I’m always stunned by their beauty. I tell myself I’ll pay more attention, which, of course, I don’t.  It makes me feel sad that I often don’t appreciate the beauty of where I live.

And then, I read a review on one of my books or I get an email or a Facebook post that remarks how the descriptions of the area are so clear. It never fails to make me smile.  I think to myself that perhaps I do see and appreciate more than I realize.

I always thought I’d move away from NE Washington and never did. I love visiting cities like New York, Houston, San Diego, Vancouver. Each time I go to places like that I think how wonderful it would be to live there. Then I come home and suddenly, I don’t want to live anywhere else. I drive to my office and watch a bald eagle soar along the shore of the river. I stop and let a young moose cross the road. I run at lunch through a park in the heart of the city that is lush with trees, grass, and beauty.  I ride my bike through a massive state park surrounded by forests, mountains, and lakes.

I may not have started my life here but my roots run deep. I think I’ll stay.

